DUI Penalties in Pennsylvania

Approximately 51,000 DUI arrests are made in Pennsylvania each year. The Commonwealth of PA has established a three tiered approach to DUI enforcement and treatment.

In addition, there is a special Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition program available to some first offenders.

The three levels that apply to your first Driving Under the Influence offense are:

General Impairment (.08 to .099% BAC)

  • Ungraded misdemeanor
  • Up to 6 months probation
  • $300 fine
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • Treatment when ordered

High BAC (.10 to .159% BAC)

  • 12 month license suspension
  • 48 hours to 6 months prison
  • $500 to $5,000 fine
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • Treatment when ordered

Highest BAC (.16% and higher)

  • 12 month license suspension
  • 72 hours to 6 months prison
  • $1,000 to $5,000 fine
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • Treatment when ordered

Penalties escalate for a second offense and escalate again for 3 or more DUI offenses. Starting with a 3rd drunken driving charge with a blood alcohol concentration of .16% or higher, you will face a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 5 years in prison, a $10,000 fine, and when you do drive a car again it will be with an ignition interlock installed.

For more details, please visit the Department of Transportation website’s page on .08 DUI Legislation. 

To learn more, visit our Blood Alcohol Concentration page, or contact Ronald Makoski to schedule your FREE consultation. He has helped thousands, just like you.